This unique two story white brick home stands atop a hill at 914 28th St. SE in Cedar Rapids, Iowa.
Once called “Windy Ridge”, it was built by William Rogers in 1850 and originally sat on 6 acres.
The brick was kilned a quarter mile away. The walls have four thicknesses of brick with a space between,
and as a result, it preserves heat in the winter as well as resists overheating in the summer.
The white oak wood floors are original. It still has some of the hand-rolled glass window panes.
At one time the house was a stopover for preaching circuit riders. There is a “captain’s walk” or lookout platform.
Over the years the property has been reduced to its current approximately one-quarter acre.
A detached garage with a storage shed was built and an enclosed porch now is used as the principal
entry. Plumbing and electrical services of course were added. A buyer may choose to upgrade the vintage
1940s kitchen and bathrooms. The yard offers a rich environment for gardening.
The owner, now deceased, purchased the property in the early 1980s and treasured preserving its